CEO's Message

Children of Promise Schools were founded to help address many of the problems we see facing our urban youth. With a quality education, many children excel and succeed in spite of the difficulties they face in their community. COP Schools develop the whole child by integrating character based curriculum with the rigorous academic environment where teachers challenge their students to surpass the basic standards. I encourage you to partner with us as a parent, a donor or a volunteer to change the lives of children and develop them into tomorrow’s leaders.

Thank you,
Dr. Carleton Lincoln, Ed.D.

The Children of Promise Schools were founded by Dr. Carleton Lincoln with community leaders, educators, parents and other stakeholders who now form the governing board of COP Schools.

They identified an academic and moral need in the Inglewood community that they believed could best be met by establishing schools where high quality academia and character could be instilled in the children of our community through an academic setting.

Invest in Our Future

Mission

The mission of  Children of Promise Preparatory Academy (COPPA) is to guide the learning experience of children by providing the core academics and skills necessary to prepare students for future learning success.  We train tomorrow’s leaders today.

Our Staff

Our staff is carefully selected and screened.  They are competent in and committed to Education and the development of the child.  Our staff has been trained at some of the best learning institutions available. Their varied backgrounds far exceed the minimum requirements for teachers.  Our experienced and sensitive teachers provide an environment for the mental, moral, physical, social and intellectual growth of your child.  A child who develops as an individual through learning and motivational activities builds an important foundation for future reading, math and academic skills.

Our Leadership Team

Name Position Email
Dr. Lincoln CEO clincoln@copschools.com
Ms. Lawson Associate Executive Director of Development tlawson@copschools.com
Mr. Hilario Associate Executive Director of Schools khilario@copschools.com
Mrs. Jefferson Principal jjefferson@copschools.com
Mrs. Pleasant Director of Operations tpleasant@copschools.com
Mrs. Williams Director of Child Development Center kwilliams@copschools.com
Mr. Woods Food Program Director/Parent Liason swoods@copschools.com
Mr. Bolton Special Education Coordinator cbolton@copschools.com
Mr. Grays Director of Student Services cgrays@copschools.com

Our Faculty

Name Position Email
Mrs. Rosas TK Teacher mrosas@copschools.com
Mrs. Bustamante Kinder Teacher ibustamante@copschools.com
Ms. Hilario Kinder Teacher ahilario@copschools.com
Mrs. Jumawan 1st Grade Teacher ejumawan@copschools.com
Ms. Lusk 1st Grade Teacher Nlusk@copschools.com
Ms. Sinclair 2nd Grade Teacher llosie@copschools.com
Ms. Picott 2nd Grade Teacher cpicott@copschools.com
Ms. Presley 3rd Grade Teacher apresley@copschools.com
Mrs. Yerima 3rd Grade Teacher myerima@copschools.com
Ms. Spencer 4th Grade Teacher pspencer@copschools.com
Ms. Williams 4th Grade Teacher bwilliams@copschools.com
Mr. Wafford 5th Grade Teacher mwafford@copschools.com
Ms. Smith 5th Grade Teacher rsmith@copschools.com
Mr. Garrett P. E. Teacher elopez@copschools.com
Ms. Aburto Middle School History Teacher taburto@copschools.com
Ms. Pinckney Middle School ELA Teacher tpinckney@copschools.com
Ms. Brooks Middle School Science Teacher rbrooks@copschools.com

Child Development Center Staff

Name Position Email
Ms. Sibley Lead Teacher, Infant Center bsibley@copschools.com
Ms. Lopez Toddler Teacher mlopez@copschools.com
Ms. Coleman Toddler Teacher mcoleman@copschools.com
Ms. Morishita Lead Teacher, Pre-K kmorishita@copschools.com

Children of Promise Schools Non-discrimination Policy

Children of Promise Child Development Center and Children of Promise Preparatory Academy are committed to a policy of nondiscrimination and to the provision of equity in its educational programs, services and activities for all students and employees.

Children of Promise Schools does not discriminate in employment or in its educational programs and activities against qualified individuals on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, pregnancy, childbirth or related medical conditions, age, marital status, veteran status, or disability, physical, mental, emotional or learning disability, handicap or any other factor provided for by state and federal laws and regulations.

Children of Promise Preparatory Academy is nonsectarian in its programs, admission policies, employment practices, and all other operations, and does not charge tuition. Children of Promise Preparatory Academy will admit any student in the state of California who wishes to attend. Admission to Children of Promise Preparatory Academy shall not be determined according to the place of residence of the pupil, or of his or her parent or guardian, within this state.